Test EN

Exhibition

The permanent exhibition of the Pharmacy Museum presents the history of remedies and how they were produced. The museum was founded in 1925 by Professor J. A. Häfliger as a university study and reference collection and has been preserved in its original form as a scientific gallery to the present day.  

Remedies

Carbonised squirrel or powdered mummies as medicaments? The extensive collection of medicinal substances from all over the world used in times past illustrates the variety of ways in which disease was perceived and the healing approaches taken over the ages.

Laboratories

There are two historical laboratories in the exhibition. The first, the alchemist's workshop, houses originals from the 16th and 17th centuries and bears witness to the quest for the Philosopher's stone. In the other, the apothecary’s laboratory from the period around 1800, the most important work is the manual preparation of medicinal herbs.

Pharmacies

The furnishings from three historical pharmacies represent the changes that have occurred over the centuries: The lavishly decorated court pharmacy from Innsbruck was built around 1755. In the classical Empire style, it represents an apothecary from around 1820. The furnishings of the Basel Barfüsser pharmacy from the period shortly before 1900, represent the dawn of the industrial era. It now serves as the museum shop and is positioned at the entrance to the museum.

Faience/glazed earthenware

The museum houses an important collection of pharmaceutical ceramics. These so-called faiences have been used to store ingredients and remedies in apothecaries since the 15th century.

Home

Die Ausstellung

Das Pharmaziemuseum zeigt in seiner Dauerausstellung die Geschichte der Heilmittel und ihrer Herstellung. Als universitäre Studien- und Belegsammlung wurde das Museum 1925 von Professor J. A. Häfliger gegründet und ist in seiner ursprünglichen Form als wissenschaftliches Kabinett bis heute erhalten geblieben.  

Heilmittel

Verkohltes Eichhörnchen oder pulverisierte Mumie als Heilmittel? Eine umfangreiche Sammlung früher gebrauchter Arzneistoffe aus der ganzen Welt veranschaulicht unterschiedliche Krankheitsvorstellungen und Heilkonzepte im Laufe der Zeit.

Laboratorien

Unter den zwei historischen Laboratorien in der Ausstellung zeugt das Alchemistenlabor mit Originalen des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts von der Suche nach dem Stein der Weisen. Im Apothekenlabor aus der Zeit um 1800 bestimmt das handwerkliche Aufbereiten von Heilpflanzen die Arbeit.

Apotheken

Drei Apothekeneinrichtungen führen den Wandel der Zeit vor Augen: Die reich dekorierte Hofapotheke aus Innsbruck entstand um 1755. Klassisch, im Stil des Empires, stellt sich die Apotheke um 1820 dar. Den Schritt ins Industriezeitalter zeigt das Mobiliar der Basler Barfüsser-Apotheke aus der Zeit kurz vor 1900. Es dient heute als Museumsladen und bildet den Eingang zum Museum.

Fayencen

Das Museum zeigt eine bedeutende Sammlung pharmazeutischer Keramik. Die sogenannten Fayencen dienten seit dem 15. Jahrhundert zur Aufbewahrung von Rohstoffen und Arzneien in den Apotheken.